National Sports Day : Fit India Movement To Launch By PM Modi

National Sports Day 2019 is being celebrated across India to remember major Dhyan Chand: PM Narendra Modi will launch Fit India Movement to observe the day. Check all Government schemes & initiatives to promote sports in India. Also, know why India celebrates National Sports Day on 29 August every year.

On ‘National Sports Day’, Prime Minister Narendra Modi to launch the ‘Fit India Movement’ across the country; Fit India movement aims to encourage people to inculcate physical activity and sports in their everyday lives.

The mass movement will be launched on the occasion of National Sports Day. The Prime Minister will also administer a fitness pledge on  the occasion. The campaign is aimed at encouraging people to inculcate physical activity and sports in their day to day life.

Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju has urged people to participate in the Fit India movement in large numbers.

Several athletes have also lauded the move. They have urged the people to join the movement for the creation of a more healthy nation.

University Grants Commission has asked higher educational institutes to make necessary arrangements to view Prime Minister’s address on the launch of the movement. As part of the Fitness pledge, UGC has asked everyone to walk at least 10,000 steps and follow it up in their daily routine.

A committee comprising government officials, members of Indian Olympic Association (IOA), national sports federations, private bodies and fitness promoters was also formed to advise the government on the Fit India Movement.

The 28-member committee, which will be under the chairmanship of sports minister Kiren Rijiju, has 12 members from the government, including secretaries of Sports, Secondary Education, Ayush, Youth Affairs, among others.

IOA President and seven NSF heads, including those of boxing, athletics, football and cycling, are also a part of the committee.  

Schemes launched by Narendra Modi Government to promote sports in India-

  • Khelo India Scheme
  • Sports Talent Search Portal
  • National Sports Development Fund
  • High-level committee to address grievances of women sportspersons
  • Target Olympic Podium Scheme
  • Promotion of sports amongst School Students under the Samagra Shiksha Scheme
  • Fit India Movement

Deepa Malik (para-athletics), Bajrang Punia and Ravindra Jadeja are nominated names among National Sports Awards 2019.
The Union Government proclaimed 29 August as the country’s National Sports Day in 2012 to commemorate Major Dhyan Chand and his achievements in the field of sports.

National Sports Awards 2019: List of All the winners

Khel Ratna: Deepa Malik (para-athletics), Bajrang Punia (wrestling)

Arjuna Award: Ravindra Jadeja (cricket), Mohammed Anas Yahiya (athletics), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (football), Sonia Lather (boxing), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (hockey), S Bhaskaran (bodybuilding), Ajay Thakur (kabaddi), Anjum Moudgil (shooting), Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (badminton),   Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (athletics),  Pramod Bhagat (para sports-badminton), Harmeet Rajul Desai (table tennis), Pooja Dhanda (wrestling), Fouaad Mirza (equestrian), Simran Singh Shergill (polo), Poonam Yadav (cricket), Swapna Burman (athletics), Sundar Singh Gurjar (para sports-athletics) and Gaurav Singh Gill (motorsports).

national sports awards

Dronacharya Award (regular category): Mohinder Singh Dhillon (athletics), Sandeep Gupta (table tennis) and Vimal Kumar (badminton).  

Dronacharya Award (lifetime category): Sanjay Bhardwaj (cricket), Rambir Singh Khokar (kabaddi) and Mezban Patel (hockey).

Dhyan Chand Award: Manoj Kumar (wrestling), C Lalremsanga (archery), Arup Basak (table tennis), Nitten Kirrtane (tennis) and Manuel Fredricks (hockey).


1 Response

  1. August 29, 2019


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *